Tine Thing Helseth, Artistic Director of Risør Kammermusikkfest, has announced the festival’s 2024 programme. For this year’s edition, which will run from 25 – 30 June, Helseth invited conductor Cathrine Winnes to co-curate the programme.

Explaining the theme, Room for Storytelling, Helseth says, ” In order to create and be creative, we need a space – a separate place that provides room for all the possibilities and paths we can explore. Room to make mistakes and room to choose a new path. Music, in all its forms, describes our lives. It connects us and resonates within us in a genuine and personal way. Whether it is clear narrative music with lyrics, or descriptions of relationships, events or feelings. Music that is written very seriously or as a joke. Music that should only be enjoyed or that should provoke and almost hurt.”

Speaking about the programme, Helseth explains the Festival’s idea behind selected repertoire: “In this year’s programme, we delve into music’s narratives and stories. You will meet the young couple in the dramatic work “Verklärte Nacht”, experience the story of the soldier who yawns too much in “The Story of a Soldier”, and join an emotional journey through the cold interior landscape in “Die Winterreise” – among many other impressions. We tell about the origins of the music, the lives of the composers, and the society they were part of. We provide room for both seriousness and humour, new and old – and not least, a room for everyone who wants to be part of a wonderful week in Risør!”

Located in Norwegian town of Risør, the Festival promises an extravagant musician line-up. Helseth: “In familiar style, we are visited by outstanding musicians from both the Netherlands and abroad. Some new acquaintances and some who have been here before. Marc-André Hamelin, Julian Bliss and Kristine Balanas have all had great success in Risør in the past, while Maximillian Hornung, Roderick Williams and Yeol Eum Son are hugely looking forward to visiting the festival for the first time. In addition there will be Herborg Kråkevik, Helge Jordal, Mathias Eick, Kristiansand Symphony Orchestra, Johanna Rudström and many more.”

Read the full programme announcement here.

Photo Credit: Anna-Julia Granberg